What’s New

Do you receive our bi-weekly newsletter, the Hub City Reader? Sign up to stay current!

Writing in Place conference


Hub City will host the 14th annual Writing in Place conference on the campus of Wofford College July 11-13, 2014. This year's conference will feature a keynote address by South Carolina novelist Michel Stone, lots of new workshops, happy hour at the Hub City Bookshop, faculty readings, and more! Registration is now open.

Published novelists, poets, essayists, and literary critics lead a series of workshops over three days that include intense instruction, challenging exercises, and an opportunity for feedback. Registrants must sign up for one genre: poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction. Our instructors will expect you to write during this conference, and we have planned a weekend with "downtime" for that purpose. We also want you to have time for networking with faculty and new friends. This conference is open to 48 adult writers and sells out every year, so register early. This conference is geared toward starting a new piece of work rather than workshopping something you have already written.

Our conference is held in the Michael S. Brown Village Center on the north side of campus. Overnight guests are housed in the Village apartment housing. See photos of past conferences here.

In conjunction with the Spartanburg Writing Project, recertification credits are available to certified K-12 teachers. If you are a teacher and need information about how to qualify, please email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

Eventbrite - Writing In Place Conference 2014

2014 Faculty & Speakers


Christopher Bundy

Christopher Bundy is author of the novel Baby, You're a Rich Man (C&R Press, 2013. His fiction and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in River Teeth, Atlanta Magazine, Glimmer Train, Puerto del Sol, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, and many other print and online publications. He is a founding editor of the journal New South and lives in Atlanta, GA, where he teaches writing and literature at Savannah College of Art & Design-Atlanta (SCAD). Visit his website


Tommy Hays

Tommy Hays is Executive Director of the Great Smokies Writing Program and Lecturer in the Master of Liberal Arts program at UNC Asheville. His newest book, What I Came to Tell You was a SIBA Okra Pick for fall 2013. He has three previous novels, one of which was read on NPR's "Radio Reader." He is a winner of the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award. Visit his website


Michel Stone

Michel Stone is the author of The Iguana Tree (Hub City, 2012), a novel of illegal immigration chosen by Clemson University as its freshman read for 3,600 incoming students. This debut novel was a finalist for Foreword magazine's Multicultural Book of the Year, a SIBA Okra Pick, and a community read in Hermiston, OR. Visit her website


Jillian Weise

Jillian Weise's most recent book of poetry, The Book of Goodbyes (BOA Editions, 2013), received the James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets. Her work has appeared in The Atlantic Monthly, The New York Times, Tin House and Verse Daily. A native of Houston, she was a Fred Chappell Fellow at the University of North Carolina Greensboro. Weise teaches writing at Clemson University. Visit her website


Lee Zacharias

Lee Zacharias is the author of a forthcoming book of personal essays, The Only Sounds We Make (Hub City, 2014); a novel, Lessons; and a book of short stories, Helping Muriel Make It through the Night. She has published numerous essays, short stories, and photographs and is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the North Carolina Arts Council. She taught for many years at the University of North Carolina Greensboro. Visit her website


Conference Lodging

Lodging is available in a Wofford College dormitory for $35 a night. These are single rooms, and you will not have a roommate. Please check the appropriate box if you intend to stay at Wofford. Other hotels in the area include the Marriott at Renaissance Park (864-596-1211), the Inn on Main (864-585-5001), and the Fairfield (864-542-0333). PLEASE NOTE: The Wofford dorm rooms are spartan, and the beds are four feet off the floor. If you have difficulty reaching a bed that high, please consider a motel room.

What to Bring

For your comfort, please bring a sweater or jacket. Classrooms can sometimes be chilly. Bring a notebook and writing instrument. You may also bring a laptop. If you want to take part in the open mic, bring a short piece of your work to read. Overnighters should bring a pillow and blanket for a single bed. Sheets and towels are provided.

About Manuscript Critiques

For a $50 fee you will get a thirty-minute private session with one of our faculty members. After you register, please send ten pages of prose or five poems by June 15 to HCWP, 186 W Main St. Spartanburg SC 29306 or email to submit@hubcity.org. Critiques are available in fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction.


If you have joined the Hub City Writers Project as a member at the $30 level or higher, tuition to the conference is reduced to $225. This membership also entitles you to 25 percent discount on Hub City Press books. If you have questions about whether you have made a donation, email betsy@hubcity.org. The "Become a Member" button is at the bottom of this page.

Tentative Schedule


  • 5:00 pm Registration for people staying in dorms
  • 5:30 pm General registration
  • 6:00 pm Dinner
  • 6:30 pm Faculty readings and Q&A
  • 7:45 pm Writing classes


  • 8:00 am Coffee and danish
  • 9:00 am Opening session
  • 9:30 am Writing class
  • Noon Lunch
  • 1:00 pm Writing time
  • 3:00 pm Writing class
  • 5:30 pm Social hour at the Hub City Bookshop
  • 6:30 pm Dinner
  • 7:30 pm Keynote address
  • 8:30 pm Open Mic


  • 8:00 am Coffee and danish.
  • 9:00 am Concurrent workshops
  • 10:30 Concurrent workshops
  • Noon Conference ends

Conference History

Past Instructors and keynote speakers for our conference have included: Wiley Cash, Robert Morgan, Ruta Sepetys, Elizabeth Berg, Jill McCorkle, John Lane, Sebastian Matthews, Glenis Redmond, Ron Stodghill, Ashley Warlick, Charles Everitt, Tommy Hays, Fred Chappell, George Singleton, Elizabeth Cox, Ron Rash, Nikky Finney, Janisse Ray, Rebecca McClanahan, Claire Bateman, Dot Jackson, Rick Mulkey, Frye Gaillard, Ruth Moose, Rosa Shand, Cathy Smith Bowers, Deno Trakas, Tom McConnell, Ruta Sepetys, Ray McManus, Anna Jean Mayhew, Philip Gerard, Neil White, and many others.